Albert Einstein in Princeton:

"I am very happy in my new home in this friendly country and the liberal atmosphere of Princeton."

Albert Einstein, 1935

ALBERT EINSTEIN’S YEARS IN PRINCETON (USA)

From 1902–1909 Einstein spent successful years in Bern. After that time he stayed in Zurich and in Prague for a short time, returned to Zurich and from then on worked as professor at the Prussian Academy of Science in Berlin from 1914–1932. Due to political reasons he had to emigrate in 1933. He found his last workplace in Princeton (New Jersey), a magnificent little town 100 km south of New York.

Already at the end of 1930 did Einstein receive the permission of the Prussian Ministry of Education and the Arts to lecture in the winter month for one guest semester. He did this every year until his emigration so that he lived in Princeton in the winter month and in Berlin in the summer month. American scientists made great efforts in the 1920ies to send their famous European colleagues to the USA. This tendency even increased due to the events of 1933. Thus they wanted to support the development of science and technology in the USA more than ever. Abraham Flexner, the founder of the “Institute for Advanced Study” in Princeton had in 1932 received Einstein’s promise, to participate in this institution which resembled the Kaiser Wilhelm Institutes in Berlin. The financial means were guaranteed by a foundation. Einstein should have the possibility to solely devote himself to his research, like he did in Berlin, and not have any firm lecturing hours.

At the end of 1932 the Einstein's, Albert and his second wife Elsa, took their preparations for their third journey to America. In the meantime the anti-Semitic campaign against Einstein in Germany increased. In America there was also a wave of protest against him because of his actions for pacifism. Albert and Elsa arrived in California at the beginning of January in 1933. First they went to Pasadena and later followed their first longer stay in Princeton. In the Mount Wilson Observatory he debated the mysteries of universe with Edwin Hubble, the discoverer of the big bang.

In the middle of March 1933 Einstein decided to return to Europe. Already during the way home on board of the ship "Belgenland" they heard further alarming news from Germany. Einstein wrote his resignation to the Berlin Academy already during his crossing to Europe. After his arrival in Antwerpen, Einstein decided not to return to Germany and to never again enter German ground. He spent some time in Belgium and England.

In autumn it was finally decided to leave Europe and to emigrate to the United States. On October 7 in 1933 Einstein and his wife Elsa, his secretary Helen Dukas and his assistant Dr. Walther Mayer, travelled from Southampton to the USA with the steamship "Westernland" (Red Star Line).

A new beginning in Princeton (USA)

After the arrival in New York – while the reception was no longer as tumultuous as in previous years -  Einstein and his company were taken to Princeton with the car. Later his stepdaughter Margot, Hans Albert, Einstein’s older son from his first marriage and Einstein’s sister Maja also followed the emigrants. It was a new beginning for all of them.

Einstein’s new workplace was the "Institute for Advanced Study" which he stayed loyal to until his death in 1955. This institute had back then a good reputation all over the world. As Jewish scientists were driven out of the country after the national socialists seized power, the leadership of physics, the "science of fate of the 20th century" changed over from Germany to the United States. Through Albert Einstein, the "pope of physics" the "Institute for Advanced Study" became in the following years the most famous research centre of the world. Einstein liked the working conditions at the institute. In the morning he could be met at the institute most of the time. In the afternoon he liked being at home, meeting friends and famous persons from science and politics. He recovered while doing long walks in the park.

In August 1935 Einstein bought a single family house at 112 Mercer Street in Princeton, near the institute, in which he lived with his wife Elsa, his stepdaughter Margot and his secretary Helen Dukas. Unfortunately his wife fell ill a short time later and died in December 1936. He had to face another death only a short time after that when his former fellow student Marcel Grossmann died. There was so much to thank him for.

Einstein's residential building in Princeton, 1935-1955

Einstein’s residential building in Princeton, 1935–1955

In December 1936 the 150 years celebration of the "Naturforschende Gesellschaft Bern" took place in the assembly hall of the university of Bern. On this occasion Albert Einstein was made a honorary member for his work. After having received the certificate of honour, Einstein was very pleased and gave it a place of honour in the flat in Princeton. His beloved violin, with which he also liked to play Mozart or Bach even in far-away countries, belonged to his most important souvenirs of his time in Switzerland. The little Swiss military service book, which nowadays is kept in the Einstein archive in Jerusalem, counted to the few documents he took with him.

At the "Institute for Advanced Study" the great Einstein was given the best research possibilities. No pressure was exerted on him to do research. This fact permitted his further work on his theory of gravity with the aim to enlarge it to a "Unified field theory". Besides, he continued to take care of pacifistic and Zionistic organizations and, with the help of friends and colleagues, supported the steadily growing number of emigrants.

University and institute

It must also be mentioned that Princeton, near the capital Trenton in the State of New Jersey, also has an excellent university besides the "Institute for Advanced Study", at which, however, mainly young people from well-off families are given the possibility to study. The Princeton University, at which Einstein held lectures, too, is among the most famous universities of the United States. A striking number of Nobel laureates of recent years have studied at this private university, especially physicists and mathematicians. The buildings of the university, which are located about 3 km away from the institute, are situated in an English garden. The time-honoured architecture resembles the ones of the universities of Oxford and Cambridge. The university and the institute conveys a bit of the style of living and working, of the special character of these places of research: the mixture of British country house and American way of life.

The last years of his life

In October 1940 Einstein became an American citizen. But he also kept the Swiss citizenship which he had been given in Zurich in 1901. He communicated again and again with his former colleagues and friends. Thus he wrote, among other things, in 1949 to his friend and former working colleague from the Patent Office Michele Besso: "The best that remains are a few honest friends who have head and heart in the right place and understand each other like we do." Also in later years Einstein was stricken with homesickness after the cosy Kramgasse in Bern and wrote: "Yes, it was a nice time back then in Bern."
 

Albert Einstein, ca. 1950

Albert Einstein in Princeton, ca. 1950

At the beginning of the 1950ies Einstein developed health problems. Despite that fact he constantly worked on his field theory, but his efforts were not successful.

After short illness Albert Einstein died on April 18, 1955 at the age of 76. He had been politically active until his last days. As he hated personality cult, he prohibited any funeral service. Only his closest relatives and friends bode him farewell in the crematory.

 

Dr. Adolf Meichle

The author has been member of the board of executive directors of the Albert Einstein-Gesellschaft (Albert Einstein Society) in Bern for years. He is bearer of the Einstein Medal which is awarded by the Albert Einstein Society every year to persons who have rendered outstanding services through their work in connection with Albert Einstein.
 

Illustrations Credits:
Courtesy of the Albert Einstein Society, Bern


Copyright © 2000-2012 Hans-Josef Küpper. All rights reserved. | Imprint

Albert Einstein in Princeton:

"Ich bin sehr glücklich in meinem neuen Heim in diesem freundlichen Land und in der liberalen Atmosphäre von Princeton."

Albert Einstein, 1935

ALBERT EINSTEINS JAHRE IN PRINCETON (USA)

Einstein verbrachte von 1902–1909 erfolgreiche Jahre in Bern. Danach war er kurze Zeit in Zürich und Prag, kehrte nach Zürich zurück, und wirkte hierauf von 1914–1932 als Professor an der Preußischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Berlin. Aus politischen Gründen musste er 1933 auswandern. Er fand seine letzte Wirkungsstätte in Princeton (New Jersey), einem reizenden Städtchen 100 km südlich von New York.

Bereits Ende 1930 erhielt der Gelehrte vom preußischen Kultusministerium die Genehmigung in den Wintermonaten für ein Gastsemester in Princeton zu lesen. Dies wiederholte sich jährlich bis zu seiner Emigration, sodass er während der Sommermonate in Berlin, im Winter in Princeton lebte. Amerikanische Wissenschaftler waren in den zwanziger Jahren bemüht, europäische Kollegen von Rang in die USA zu holen. Diese Tendenz verstärkte sich noch durch die Ereignisse des Jahres 1933. Damit wollten sie den Fortschritt von Wissenschaft und Technik in den USA stärker als bisher fördern. Abraham Flexner, der Gründer des "Institute for Advanced Study" in Princeton, hatte 1932 die Zusage Einsteins erhalten, bei dieser den Kaiser-Wilhelm-Instituten in Berlin ähnlichen Institution, mitzuwirken. Die finanziellen Mittel waren durch eine Stiftung gesichert. Wie in Berlin sollte sich Einstein ausschließlich der Forschung widmen können, ohne feste Vorlesungspflichten zu haben.

Ende 1932 trafen die Einsteins, Albert und seine zweite Frau Elsa, ihre Vorbereitungen für die dritte Reise nach Amerika. Während in Deutschland die antisemitische Kampagne gegen Einstein weiter anwuchs, entstand auch in Amerika eine Welle des Protestes gegen ihn wegen seinen Aktionen für den Pazifismus. Albert und Elsa trafen Anfang Januar 1933 in Kalifornien ein. Sie gingen zunächst nach Pasadena und später kam es zum ersten längeren Aufenthalt in Princeton. Im Mount-Wilson-Observatorium diskutierte er die Rätsel des Universums mit Edwin Hubble, dem Entdecker des Urknalls.

Einstein entschloss sich Mitte März 1933 nach Europa zurückzukehren. Noch während der Rückfahrt an Bord des Schiffes "Belgenland" trafen weitere alarmierende Nachrichten aus Deutschland ein. Schon während seiner Überfahrt nach Europa schrieb Einstein sein Rücktrittsschreiben an die Berliner Akademie. Nach der Ankunft in Antwerpen entschied sich Einstein, nicht nach Deutschland zurückzukehren und den deutschen Boden nie mehr zu betreten. Er verbrachte einige Zeit in Belgien und England.

Im Herbst schließlich wurde der Entscheid gefällt, Europa zu verlassen und endgültig in die Vereinigten Staaten auszuwandern. Am 7. Oktober 1933 reiste Einstein in Begleitung seiner Frau Elsa, seiner Sekretärin Helen Dukas und seines Assistenten Dr. Walther Mayer mit dem Dampfer "Westernland" (Red Star Line) von Southampton in die USA ab.

Neubeginn in Princeton (USA)

Nach der Ankunft in New York, wobei der Empfang nicht mehr so stürmisch ausfiel wie in früheren Jahren, wurde Einstein und seine Begleitung mit dem Auto nach Princeton gefahren. Später folgten auch seine Stieftochter Margot, Hans Albert, Einsteins älterer Sohn aus erster Ehe, und Einsteins Schwester Maja den Emigranten. Ein Neubeginn für alle.

Einsteins neue Wirkungsstätte war das "Institute for Advanced Study", dem er bis zu seinem Ableben im Jahre 1955 treu blieb. Dieses Institut hatte zu dieser Zeit weltweit einen guten Ruf. Mit der Vertreibung der jüdischen Gelehrten nach der Machtübernahme durch die Nationalsozialisten ging die Führung der Physik, der "Schicksalswissenschaft des 20. Jahrhunderts", von Deutschland auf die Vereinigten Staaten über. Durch Albert Einstein, den "Papst der Physik", wurde das "Institute for Advanced Study" in der Folgezeit zum berühmtesten Forschungszentrum der Welt. Die Arbeitsbedingungen am Institut gefielen Einstein. Am Morgen war er meistens im Institut anzutreffen. Am Nachmittag war er gerne zu Hause, traf Freunde und Persönlichkeiten aus Wissenschaft und Politik. Erholung fand er auf ausgedehnten Spaziergängen im Park.

Im August 1935 kaufte sich Einstein in Princeton, unweit des Institutes, ein Einfamilienhaus an der Mercer Street 112, in dem er zusammen mit seiner Frau Elsa, seiner Stieftochter Margot und mit seiner Sekretärin Helen Dukas wohnte. Leider erkrankte wenig später seine Frau, die im Dezember 1936 verstarb. Ein weiterer Verlust widerfuhr ihm kurz darauf durch den Tod seines ehemaligen Studienfreundes Marcel Grossmann, dem er so viel zu verdanken hatte.

Einsteins Wohnhaus in Princeton

Einsteins Wohnhaus in Princeton, 1935-1955

Im Dezember 1936 fand in der Aula der Universität Bern das 150 Jahr-Jubiläum der Naturforschenden Gesellschaft Bern statt, bei welcher Gelegenheit Albert Einstein für seine Verdienste zum Ehrenmitglied ernannt wurde. Nach Erhalt der Ehrenurkunde war Einstein hocherfreut und gab ihr in der Wohnung in Princeton einen Ehrenplatz. Zu seinen wichtigsten Andenken an die Schweizerzeit gehörte seine geliebte Geige, mit der er auch im fernen Land gerne Mozart oder Bach spielte. Zu den wenigen Dokumenten, die er mitnahm, zählte vor allem das Schweizer Militär-Dienstbüchlein, das heute im Einstein-Archiv in Jerusalem aufbewahrt wird.

Am "Institute for Advanced Study" hatte der große Gelehrte beste Forschungsmöglichkeiten. Er hatte auch keinen Forschungszwang. Dies erlaubte ihm weiter an seiner Gravitationstheorie zu arbeiten, mit dem Ziel, sie zu einer "Einheitlichen Feldtheorie" zu erweitern. Daneben kümmerte er sich weiterhin um pazifistische und zionistische Organisationen und unterstützte mit Hilfe von Freunden und Kollegen die immer größer werdende Zahl von Emigranten.

Universität und Institut

Nicht unerwähnt bleiben darf, dass Princeton, nahe der Hauptstadt Trenton im Bundesstaat New Jersey, neben dem "Institute for Advanced Study" auch eine hervorragende Universität besitzt, an der allerdings zur Hauptsache junge Leute aus wohlhabenden Familien studieren können. Die Princeton University, an der Einstein auch Vorlesungen hielt, zählt zu den bedeutendsten Hochschulen der Vereinigten Staaten. Auffallend viele Nobelpreisträger der letzten Jahre haben ihr Studium, vor allem in Physik und Mathematik, an dieser privaten Universität absolviert. Die Gebäude der Universität, etwa 3 km vom Institut entfernt, befinden sich in einem englischen Garten. Die altehrwürdige Architektur ist den Hochschulen Oxford und Cambridge ähnlich. Die Universität und das Institut vermitteln etwas vom Lebens- und Arbeitsstil, vom besonderen Charakter dieser Forschungsstätten: Die Mischung von British country house und American way of live.

Die letzten Lebensjahre

Im Oktober 1940 wurde Einstein amerikanischer Bürger. Das Schweizer Bürgerrecht, das er 1901 in Zürich erworben hatte, behielt er aber weiter bei. Er korrespondierte immer wieder mit seinen ehemaligen Kollegen und Freunden. So schrieb er u.a. 1949 seinem Freund und ehemaligen Arbeitskollegen vom Patentamt Michele Besso: "Das Beste, was bleibt sind ein paar aufrechte Freunde, die Kopf und Herz am rechten Fleck haben und einander verstehen, so wie es bei uns beiden ist." Einstein wurde auch in späteren Jahren vom Heimweh nach der beschaulichen Kramgasse in Bern gepackt und schrieb: "Es war doch eine schöne Zeit damals in Bern".

Albert Einstein, um 1950

Albert Einstein in Princeton, um 1950

Anfang der Fünfzigerjahre machten sich bei Einstein gesundheitliche Beschwerden bemerkbar. Trotzdem arbeitete er unentwegt an seiner Feldtheorie, wobei seine Bemühungen nicht von Erfolg gekrönt waren.

Nach kurzer Krankheit starb Albert Einstein am 18. April 1955 im Alter von 76 Jahren. Er war politisch aktiv bis in die letzten Tage. Da ihm der Personenkult verhasst war, verbat er sich jede Trauerfeier. Nur seine engsten Verwandten und Freunde nahmen im Krematorium von ihm Abschied.
 

Dr. Adolf Meichle

Der Verfasser war jahrelang im Vorstand der Albert Einstein-Gesellschaft in Bern. Er ist Träger der Einstein-Medaille, die jährlich von der Albert Einstein-Gesellschaft an Personen verliehen wird, die sich durch ihr Wirken in Zusammenhang mit Albert Einstein verdient gemacht haben.
 

Bildernachweis:
Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Albert Einstein-Gesellschaft, Bern

Druckversion

Seitenanfang

   

Copyright © 2000-2012 Hans-Josef Küpper. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. | Impressum